The barn is part of the Massacoh Plantation, a parcel of land owned by the Simsbury Historical Society in the center of Simsbury. The site has 9 buildings. Two of the bildings, the Capt. Elisha Phelps House and the Phelps Barn are sitting on their original locations on the site which was the Phelps Farm. The other buildings have historical significance and have been moved to the Massacoh Plantation from other places in Simsbury or the local area. The Massacoh Plantation is located within the Simsbury Center Historic District which is on the National Registry. The only building situated on this site and listed in the Registry is the Capt. Elisha Phelps House. The Phelps barn is not listed. The Capt. Elisha Phelps House and the other buildings house a variety of historic collections. The Phelps Barn houses a unique peddler's tin cart and a large collection of antique farm implements and tools. The peddler's tin cart is equipped with its original contents and was used from 1875 to 1925 by a local man, Lucious Bigelow, a civil war veteran. His route took him around Simsbury and many neighboring towns and hamlets including Avon, Canton, Collinsville, Farmington, and Granby. This tin cart with its contents is believed to be unique in New England and perhaps around the country.
Ransom, David F., Simsbury Center Historic District National Register Nomination No. 96000356, National Park Service, 1996.